Marikina City Posts Best Ever Finish in NCR Palaro 2019

PIO Department


Share article on:

The week-long National Capital Region or NCR Palaro 2019 held its closing ceremony Friday, March 1 at the Marikina Sports Center. The event finished with flying colors following the successful opening that went viral over social media on Monday, February 24, as Mayor Marcy Teodoro led the crowd to do the “Munting Basura, Ibulsa Muna” dance craze.

Champions for all sports categories rose to the podium as they were awarded that day.

Marikina, in particular, bagged home nine gold, 13 silver, and 13 bronze medals to ranked fifth in the overall medal standings for the Elementary level of the games, making it the highest ranking for Marikina in the annual regional meet, since 2017.

On the other hand, the City won five gold, nine silver and 13 bronze medals, good for 11th place overall in the secondary medal tally.

The Shoe Capital of the Philippines delivered the goods after clinching a double crown in Sepak Takraw boys.

Alexander Limjuco III in the Elementary team and John Arsyl Tupas in the Secondary squad were named Most Valuable Players in the sporting event, not to mention Limjuco and Tupas winning the best setter and best tekong, respectively.

Sharing the spotlight were Angela Nicole Manrique and Eunice Villar who smashed their way to secure the gold medal in the elementary badminton doubles category.

Meanwhile, it was one really good swim for the young girls Casey Ruiz and Clara Yzabel Delos Santos who took over the gold spot in the 50-meter and 100-meter freestyle and 50-meter breaststroke elementary level, respectively.

Likewise, promising swimmer and national record-holder, Thanya Dela Cruz, dominated the secondary level in 100-meter and 200-meter breaststroke. She was awarded as last year’s Palarong Pambansa MVP for swimming in the secondary level.

Also, representing the region in this year’s Palarong Pambansa is Hargi Fernandez who knocked out his opponents and grabbed the gold medal for the wrestling secondary level category.

Wrapping the list are Dexter Adriano and Keila Agapito who swept their rivals in full-contact sport. Both received gold medals in wushu sanda boys and girls secondary level, respectively.

The City’s pride will join the rest of the NCR Palaro's gold medalists in representing the 13-time Palarong Pambansa champions in this year's annual meet, in Davao City, slated to begin on April 27 to May 4.

Meanwhile, after a successful hosting of the NCR Palaro, Marikina City is now in talks with the Department of Education, in a bid to host the 2020 Palarong Pambansa.

Click here for the full list of NCR Palaro 2019 Marikina student-athletes awardees.

Share article on: